Hanmer Springs by-election 2017-2018

A by-election will be held on Saturday 17 February 2018 to fill an extraordinary vacancy for one member of the Hanmer Springs Community Board.  The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Chris Preston.

Key Dates:

23 November 2017 - nominations open / electoral roll opens

22 December 2017 - nominations close at 12noon / electoral roll closes

27 December 2017 

26 - 31 January 2018 - delivery of voting papers

17 February 2018 - Polling day - voting closes at 12noon / announcement of preliminary results

20 February 2018 - declaration and public notice of final results


Nominations for the above position open on Friday 24 Novemberand must be made on the official nomination form available from the Hurunui District Library, 111 Carters Road. Amberley or the Hanmer Library/Service Centre, Cnr Amuri Ave and Cheltenham St, Hanmer Springs or online here

Information Sheet 

Nomination Form

Candidate Handbook

Completed nomination documents must be received by the Electoral Officer no later than 12 noon on Friday 22 December 2017.  Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash, cheque or on-line banking.  Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and recent photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors if an election is required.  The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate information sheet which is available with the nomination forms.  All documents must be lodged together with the nomination form.


Electoral Roll

A preliminary electoral roll for the by-election can be inspected at the Hurunui District Council office, 66 Carters Road, Amberley, or the Hurunui Memorial Library, 111 Carters Road, Amberley or the Hanmer Library/Service Centre, Cnr Amuri Ave and Cheltenham St, Hanmer Springs during normal business hours from Friday 24 November to Friday 22 December 2017.

 Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Friday 22 December 2017.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from the Hurunui District Council office or online and must be returned to the Electoral Officer before 4pm Friday 22 December 2017.

Election Details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, it will be conducted by postal voting under the First past the Post electoral system.  Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers.

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer – Hurunui District Council
0800 666 937    



Local Government Elections 2016


2016 Triennial Elections


The final result for the Hurunui District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Amuri-Hurunui Ward (3 vacancies) Votes Received

BLACK, Marie 857

ANDERSON, Nicky 751

DAVISON, Dick 664




Nicky Anderson, Marie Black and Dick Davison are declared elected.


Amberley Ward (3 vacancies) Votes Received

MCLEAN, Julia 940

SHIER, Geoff 875

WARD, Michael 698

ROCHE, Kevin 675

COSTER, Julie 595

MCKENDRY, Judith 488



Julia Mclean, Geoff Shier and Michael Ward are declared elected.


Hanmer Springs Community Board (5 vacancies) Votes Received

HUGHEY, Chris 276

SMITH, David Joseph 259

HOLLOWAY, Mary 243

ENSOR, Rosemary 234

PRESTON, Chris 201

RUTHERFORD, Richard 101



Rosemary Ensor, Mary Holloway, Chris Hughey, Chris Preston and David Joseph Smith are declared elected.


The voter return was 41.24%, being 3,512 votes, excluding special votes.

Anthony Morton

Electoral Officer

Hurunui District Council

13 October 2016


Elected unopposed for the Hurunui District were:

Mayor ~ Winton Dalley

Hanmer Springs ~ Jason Fletcher
Glenmark ~ Fiona Harris
Cheviot ~ Vince Daly

Cheviot Licensing Trust
Sue Harrison, Gordon Hewett, Steve Coleman, Murray Crampton, Sandy Nesbitt, and Murray Burnett 

Hawarden Licensing Trust 
Tim Elms, Gavin Cattermole, Barry O'Carroll, and Geoff Olorenshaw

Key Dates

15 July 2016 Nominations open
12 August 2016 Nominations close
16-21 September 2016 Delivery of Voting Papers
16 September - 8 October 2016 Voting Period
8 October 2016 - 12 noon Voting Closes
As soon as possible after 12 noon on 8 October 2016      Preliminary Results Announced
Expected to be Thursday, 13 October 2016 Official Declaration

Results for CDHB, Environment Canterbury and other councils in NZ can be found here.

Electoral Officer

Anthony Morton
Phone: 0508 440 020
Email: elections@electionz.com

Deputy Electoral Officer

Justine Lester
Phone 03 314 0070 / 0272589576
Email: Justine.Lester@hurunui.govt.nz

Further information can be found at: