Set in the tranquil grounds of the Queen Mary Hospital site, Soldiers’ Block is a unique building at the heart of Hanmer Springs, with a story as rich and unique as its architecture. Built in 1916, the building’s original purpose was to bring healing light and fresh air to soldiers returning from the Great War, who suffered from mental illness due to their exposure to the horrors of battle. The building has since been a symbol of rejuvenation and care, guiding people through addiction recovery with a drug and alcohol programme and the inclusion of a Taha Māori recovery programme, designed with a Te Ao Māori perspective on health and healing in mind.
To view a timeline of the building's history, please click on the link below: